Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Car Seat Safety | Southwest Health and Human Services

Did you know that 8 out of 10 car seats are used INCORRECTLY?

Minnesota law requires children age 7 and under to ride in a child safety seat or booster seat, unless the child is 4 feet 9 inches or taller.

Want to see if your child is in the correct car seat? Click the button to find out more about choosing and installing a seat.

car seat with baby

Child Care & Foster Care Provider Training

During the 2005 Special Legislative Session, legislators passed a law requiring all family and group child care, child care centers, child foster care, and other programs licensed by the Department of Human Services that serve a child or children under 9 years of age have documented training on child passenger restraint systems.

Before a license holder, staff person, caregiver, or helper transports a child or children under the age of 9 in a motor vehicle, the person transporting the child must satisfactorily complete training on the proper use and installation of child restraint systems in motor vehicles. Training must be completed at orientation or initial training, and repeated at least every 5 years, effective January 1, 2006.

To find upcoming car seat training for child care and foster care providers go to Child Care Aware of Minnesota.

Translate »
Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) InformationLearn More
+
Scroll to Top